top of page

Time to see for myself


Welcome to my blog! This is what I look like. Or, rather, this is what I looked like before I gained 20 lbs and got a hair cut. If you would have told 17 year-old-me that I would be spending a semester in Florence, Italy, I honestly would not have been at all surprised. I inherited my wanderlust from my two parents. In our kitchen at home in West Des Moines, you will see plates decorating the walls from all over the world. I grew up listening to their wild stories from their many excursions. My parents are some of the most interesting and well-rounded people I know. They've always spoken fondly of Italy; they lived in Rome for a year after college.

I am a senior at Iowa State, majoring in Advertising and minoring in Communication Studies. In my spare time, you can find me roller blading outside or playing with my bird, Peanut, but never both at the same time. I've always been an adventurer. If you ask my friends, they'll tell you that I'm always ready to do something new and exciting. One of my favorite quotes is "when was the last time you did something for the first time?" I'm looking forward to all the firsts I will get to experience while abroad.

I chose Florence, Italy because I wanted to experience Europe for myself after hearing about it all my life. "Better to see something once than to hear about it a thousand times"-Asian Proverb that I found on Pinterest. Also, the lure of good gelato and great wine was too inticing to pass up.

I hope that my blog will help inspire others to study abroad. I also hope that blogging will further strengthen my writing skills since every single job I've ever applied for seeks "strong writing skills". I've also always been very fascinated by social media: what people respond to, what they don't. I hope to combine my passion for social media along with advertising which would make this internship a great fit for me!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page