top of page

I [donut] have a British accent...

... but I know I'd fit in here!

(As you read this, imagine me saying it in a charming British accent)

Do I love London because I’m obsessed with Harry Potter or because I’m constantly swooning at the sound of accents? Probably both. Yes, definitely both. From the moment we touched down, I already loved it there. We stayed at a hostel which had a great atmosphere! I would definitely recommend staying at SoHostel on Dean Street. They provided free tours of London almost every morning! If you have the opportunity to go on a tour with the company called Undiscovered London, I would tell you to go for it.

Along with the tours, they also offered pub crawls! We went to 5 different pubs around London in 5 hours and got a free shot (of water) at each place. Crawling from one pub to the next was a efficient way to drink and see London. We learned a little bit about the City and we got to stroll down China Town! And we finished off the night by gulping down a whole pizza. (They have Pizza Hut here! Huzzah!)

When we finally got up the next morning, we made our rounds in the stores for shopping. Since I’m trevling with two fashion majors, I didn’t realize that London is one of the fashion capitols of the world! It made sense, the men and women were very well dressed. It just made their british accents that much more charming. I really wish someone would have told me before I wore my sushi shirt and a t-shirt that literally says “T-SHIRT” in bold black letters.

seen here: sushi shirt

Of course, what is a trip to London without doing something to satisfy my Harry Potter cravings? My friends and I, who are noticeably less excited by Harry Potter than I, made our way to platform 9 and 3/4 at King’s Cross Station. For those of you who never read or watched Harry Potter (shame on you), platform 9 ¾ is where Harry first meets Ronald Weasely, his best bud, on his first trip to Hogwarts. He struggles to find platform 9 ¾ because he only sees 9 and 10. Mrs. Weasley explains to Harry that he must run at full speed, trolley and all, at the wall. Much to Harry’s dismay, he passes right through the brick wall and boards the Hogwarts Express! So, you can imagine my excitement when I got to take my picture with the trolley. The picture says it all. Inside, I couldn’t help but release my inner nerd and my inner nerd realy likes to spend money on Harry Potter themed souveniers. I bought a color-changing goblet (magic!?), Bernie & Botts ever flavor of beans (is it popcorn or vomit flavored? ), and a Hufflepuff pencil for my boyfriend because he’s a hufflepuff. (For those muggles that I’ve lost this far, I’m sorry, but go to your local book store and pick up “Harry Potter and the philosphers stone. You won’t regret it.)

Action shot
King's Cross where platform 9 3/4 is located
I took a picture on a bridge that was featured in the last Harry Potter movie

While we are wandering around, looking at the sights, we saw a pile of colorful envelopes and a man hovering around. We couldn't resist our curiosity, so we walked up. The man told us that each envelope had a poem inside that he had written himself. He told us he had each one memorized, so we tested him and indeed he did! Although we wouldn't have known either way, since we could't see the poems. That was the whole point, it was a surprise! I chose one called "The Kiss" for my boyfriend. (I'm such a romantic, I know).

I have decided that I will live in London someday. It’s a perfect place for me. Look they even named a building after me: the Wesminister Abb(e)y!

I would be surrounded by Harry Potter scenes, I’d get to listen to that gorgeous british accent all day long, the tube was so much more convenient than driving around Ames/Des Moines, they speak English so I wouldn’t have to learn a new language, and it’s cloudy weather most of the time (I’m too pale for sun). Oh yeah and I would thrive as an advertiser. I couldn’t help but notice their advertising strategies and opportunities. Now it’s time for me to shed pounds for Euros again. Fall break is over, it’s back to school in Florence for me!

Ciao for Now!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page