top of page

I [donut] believe it actually works!


They say that if you throw a coin with your right hand over your left shoulder into the Trevi fountain, you will return to Rome, Italy. In 2010, my family and I traveled to Rome when I was 14 and this weekend, I fulfilled my promise to come back to Rome!

I went to visit my boyfriend in Rome. It's been a while since I've been there, but the monuments are just as impressive. It's incredible to think that such historic things happened in this City and there's a bus route that passes right in front of the Colloseum every few minutes like it's no big deal. One thing I did this trip that I hadn't done before was cross the Tiber. The view was amazing at night!

This is the view at night, crossing the Tiber river

In the spirit of October, we visited a very spooky museum. It was the crypt of Capuchin monks in the basement of the church Santa Maria della Concezione die Cappuccini. The crypt contains nearly 3,700 bodies that are assumed to be the remains of the Capuchin Monks. There are several corpses with skin still intact. Apparently, they preserved the bodies in a way that they don't smell. There are truly amazing arrays of bond on the walls and ceilings of the crypt made of bones. There were no photos allowed, so I had to take some pictures off of the internet to show you what I mean.

Bones of the Capuchin monks, still in their cloaks

While the Crypts definitely cause goosebumps, they aren't meant to be spooky. They are meant to remind us how short our lives really are. After visiting the Crypt, I have a really good idea for a Halloween costume. I'm not entirely sure if Europeans celebrate Halloween, but the cloaks look pretty

comfortable, regardless.

The infamous Trevi fountain
This is the Pantheon. I [donut] know what that says!

I'd be lying if I said I didn't love Rome!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page