top of page

I [donut] want to leave!

What studying abroad taught me

1. Independence

There's something about going to another country where you don't speak the language and don't know the customs that can scare the heck out of you. Take my advice: fake it till you make it. Fake the confidence and the independence will follow. Climb the 400 steps to the top of the Duomo alone. It's actually really nice.

2. You're more adventurous than you might think

Do it. Order the squid ink spaghetti. You might love it, you might hate it, but you won't know if you don't order it. Jump from that really big rock into the ocean even though you're pretty sure the impact will kill you. If something frightens you, it just might be a good reason to do it. (Within reason- don't start pulling life-endangering stunts!)

3. You might discover a new hobby, or realize how passionate you are about an old hobby

While studying abroad, I had time to explore new hobbies. I love cooking and I'm actually good at it. Who knew! I also took a photography through Lorenzo de Medici and found that I really love taking pictures! I didn't know how passionate I am about my hobbies until I didn't do them for four months. I didn't realize how important playing the ukulele, hiking, or working out were to me until I didn't have access. When I got back from Italy, I pursued my hobbies with a vengeance.

4. How to appreciate differences

Just because someone does something differently than you, doesn't mean they do it the "wrong" way. Living with two women from the Netherlands taught me a lot about my own customs. Santa Clause looks different across a variety of cultures and it is actually quite fun to point out all of our differences!

5. How to live without internet

Guess what! You will survive if you don't update your Twitter account every hour! Look up, look around. Experience something without planning your Instagram caption. Below is a picture of me, taking a picture of the iconic view in Cinque Terre. Trust me on this one, this view looks better with your own two eyes than it does through a cell phone

6. How to plan

Traveling from one country to another doesn't just happen. There are a lot of factors you need to account for. Also, it doesn't hurt to try to learn a few basic words in the language of the country you're traveling to.

7. Flexibility

Sometimes plans change. Things happen that are outside of your control and rather than give up, just roll with the punches. It's not the end of the world. Often times, my favorite part of a trip was something that wasn't on the agenda. In Barcelona, I joined a feminist march that just happened to walk past us.

8. Be comfortable with being uncomfortable

Sometimes with travel, there will be times when you are uncomfortable with the situation or just physically uncomfortable. Back home, we live in a world where everything is tailored to our comfort. It might be uncomfortable when people aren't speaking the language you're used to. Don't stress; although it takes three times as long, it is still possible to communicate with someone who doesn't speak English. A man who didn't speak a lick of English once helped me catch my train that was leaving.

9. How to be on time (or early)

Let me tell you, you only need to miss a train once or twice because you realize the value of being early. Nobody really wants to be "that person", leaping over suitcases and crowd weaving because your train is leaving the station. For your own peace of mind, show up early. I've grown so accustomed to showing up to things early that I now show up to all my appointments and classes 10 minutes early!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page