top of page

I [donut] know how to get around this city!


I [donut] know how to get around this city! I usually just walk toward the Duomo and try to find my way from there. The Duomo is the oldest cathedral in Florence and as far as I know, the biggest building, too. I can see it from any point in the city; it’s like my north star. My apartment is supposed to be a nine-minute walk from campus, but because I get lost every time I walk, it usually takes me twice as long. Not that I mind, though, because there are plenty of shops to window shop along the way! I haven’t had much time for shopping yet because I’m just settling in, but I’ll be here for about three more months, so I’m not in any hurry.

(This next line is for my mom) I’ve made some friends so far and I’ve been eating very well! Fresh produce in Italy is far less expensive than it is in America. And it tastes better, too! My new friends and I took a day trip to the closest beach (I’m from land locked Iowa, so I’ll jump at any chance to go to a real beach!). Although I wore my mermaid bathing suit, I am ironically a terrible swimmer who is afraid of the ocean. Nevertheless, I waded out until the very tips of my toes were touching the sand.

On our way to the beach, we stopped at Pisa to see the leaning tower. It was on my tourist bucket list. I [donut] know how it leans so far without falling over!

They tell me that everything in Florence is within walking distance, and that’s true. As long as you can walk 40 minutes without your feet getting sore! I strolled all the way to the Piaza de Michelangelo to have a look around. Just my luck, we stumbled up to the top and walked right into the middle of a gelato festival! What’s more Italian than climbing up to a monument and rewarding yourself with a heap of creamy treats. I meant to take a picture sooner, but it was so good that I ate it all before I could snap a pic! Now it’s time for me to rest up before my fist day of classes. Believe it or not, this isn’t just a three-month vacation. I’m not just here to eat pasta and pizza; I’m here to learn some things, too. Let’s see if I can make it to campus without getting lost! Ciao for now!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page